How do I prepare for my teacher training interview?

28 Nov

_37C8087

So you enjoyed some school experience, got your references sorted out and wrote a fantastic personal statement - good work, you’re well on the way!

Now you need to prepare for the interview. Don’t be scared, with some good preparation and thorough research you can give them every good reason to offer you a place.

Here are some hints and tips to get you going:

1. This is your chance to stand out from the rest. Think carefully about what you can bring to teaching that others may not be able to offer.

2. Think about some of these obvious things before hand:

  • Why do you wish to become a teacher?
  • Why do you wish to train with this particular ITT provider, in this subject and in these key stages? Consider the ethos of the training provider, whether it is a school or a university.
  • What skills do you bring from your previous employment?
  • What reflections do you have about your school experience?
  • What qualities do you consider make an effective teacher?
  • What are the current issues in education?

3. Make sure you read the interview invitation letter/email very carefully so that you know what you should be preparing for. It’s common to expect some, if not all, of the following:

  • review of personal documentation including examination certificates;
  • a group task or discussion (e.g. discussion on current educational issues);
  • a short presentation – the topic may be given to you prior to the day of the interview (Make sure you have a structure, possibly a start, middle and a plenary/summary);
  • an individual interview, 1:1 or with a panel (discussed in more detail below);
  • role play with other interviewees;
  • written task(s) (this could be a Literacy test and/or subject based test so make sure you are confident with your subject knowledge).

4. The individual interview. It can be daunting, especially if you are being interviewed by a panel but make sure you stay confident and think before you give your answers. They may choose to focus on some, if not all, of the following points:

  • reflecting on experience of working with young people;
  • any teaching experience or knowledge you might have;
  • commitment to teaching;
  • understanding of the role of the teacher;
  • exploration of subject knowledge and IT skills
  • general communication and presentation skills – potential for classroom “presence”.

5. Above all, you need to make sure you come across as passionate about teaching, about working with young people, about your subject and making a difference to the lives of young people.

Good luck!

6 Responses to “How do I prepare for my teacher training interview?”

  1. Janet Shell January 4, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Make sure you breathe before you speak to give your voice time to funciton correctly and not come out as a squeak!
    Sit with good posture – not only will it look good but it will give your voice gravitas because your breathing will not be compromised
    imagine more space like a cave in your mouth which will alllow your sound to resonate
    And I agree with the article about being enthusiastic about your possible future role – that will show in your body and tone of voice
    Good Luck

  2. swanson April 28, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    its nice information for a teaching profession interview,all the golden points are acceptable.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sophie – Why I chose School Centred Initial Teacher Training « - December 12, 2011

    [...] I was more relaxed for the SCITT interview as I knew it would be similar to a job interview. I had to answer a GCSE English paper, write about why I wanted to teach and write about my favourite teacher. I also had to audit my subject knowledge. I was honest which was important as I was then taken into the interview and they looked at everything I’d written to discuss my answers. They then asked me questions about my experience in schools, my subject knowledge and what I would do in certain scenarios. It’s important to point out here that all interviews are laid out differently. A year ago I had no clue what to expect for either interview. [...]

  2. Give Up or Die Trying: I’ll Go For The Latter | Dee Eee's blog - February 23, 2012

    [...] teacher, and here are a few tips if you have interviews lined up or are looking to apply for 2013. TDA – How do I prepare for my teacher training or PGCE interview? This blog was very helpful, but just to be on the safe side, be prepared for some scenario [...]

  3. I want to be a teacher, where do I start? « Get into Teaching - March 21, 2012

    [...] what should I do? - Make sure you give yourself a good amount of time to prepare and read our advice on how to prepare to make the best of your interview and present yourself in the most positive light [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

